Butternut Squash Soup

I created a new recipe yesterday. It’s butternut squash soup with stilton cheese and apple cider. I had some already cooked squash in the freezer and I used that.

2 T oil
2 T white all purpose white flour
1/2 cup of soy milk (or whatever kind of milk you prefer… cream or half and half would probably be quite nice)
One cup of cooked butternut squash
1/2 cup of blue stilton cheese
1/4 cup of apple cider
Salt and pepper to taste

Make a roux with the oil, flour, and milk. Add the cider. Blend in the squash and stilton with a wand blender. Cook until the cheese is melted and the mixture has thickened somewhat. Add more milk if it’s too thick. Add the salt and pepper to taste.

I’ve been enchanted with butternut squash’s possibilities ever since I had the most amazing pumpkin ravioli in cream sauce at a restaurant in Shepherdstown, West Virginia when I lived there several years ago. I feel that while the pumpkin was wonderful, butternut squash is even better. I have never actually attempted to replicate the ravioli (although I’m starting to feel inspired), but I have, since that experience, tried to replicate some of the flavors in that dish. This soup doesn’t do exactly that, because the ravioli didn’t have cheese or apple cider. But it has a similar mouth feel and the flavor notes like the balance of sweet and tangy are very similar. The ravioli and cream sauce were set off by the flavor of nutmeg. A similar kind of astringency and bite is accomplished with the blue stilton. I love this soup.

This entry was posted in Celebration, House, Method and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

