The Fall Garden

I’ve planted green beans, yellow beans, sugar snap peas, pickling cucumbers, and salad cucumbers in the garden out back in the massacree. It’s been very wet lately, and some of the cucumbers are wilting off. There’s also a new pond that has appeared just past the garden that is a result of the combination of a lot of rain and some changes in the soil terrain because of the pipeline work, and that is keeping the soil fairly wet in the garden. This would have been a blessing in the summer, but not so much right now. There’s a bunch of volunteer cucumber plants that have germinated in between some of the cucumber hills. I’m letting them grow. I love that about the heirloom plants. You can use the seeds because they are not hybrids.

The side garden is still producing peppers, eggplants, and tomatillos. A couple of the tomato plants have blossoms on them. I don’t know if they will produce tomatoes, but I think I’ll leave those particular plants were they are so I can find out. The rest of them will be pulled up soon to make room for some winter crops, such as cabbage, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, and some greens.

I’m still trying to get the hang of fall and winter gardening. I’ve had mixed results in past years, but I learn new things each year, so hopefully this year will be more successful.

This entry was posted in Outside Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

