Other Garden Life – September & October

This beautiful orb spider wove her web just under the porch light on our side porch. I think it’s an inspired location. She put it where it wouldn’t be disturbed by the door when it opens, and she left a place for me to be able to get past the web if I duck down a bit as I start down the stairs. I’m glad it’s there, because a lot of bugs like to fly in the house when the door opens

Orb Spider 1

Orb Spider 2

This is Ivy Leaf Morning Glory with blue blossoms. These are the first blue ones I’ve ever seen

Blue Ivy Leaf Morning Glory

This is a Spearmint flower. Spearmint is growing wild all over the place in the wetlands out back. I discovered this after I planted some in the front yard.

Spearmint Flower

The Ivy Leaf Morning Glory is as bad as Kudzu here in our little urban farm. They want to take over the world

Ivy Leaf Morning Glory Takes Over The World

Ivy Leaf Morning Glory Takes Over The World 2

I identified this flower back in June or July. But I couldn’t get a good closeup shot of it, so I couldn’t post it. Now I have a good closeup shot, but I can’t remember what it is. If I ever figure it out, I’ll post an update. In the meantime, I think it’s a very cool looking plant

Unknown Purple Flower

This is some kind of legume. I have not been able to identify it yet. I also was not able to get a good closeup of the blossom, but the hurricane destroyed the plants, so that will not be possible. If they come up again next year, I’ll try again, but they seemed to only want to grow in the area that had been disturbed by the heavy machinery, so I don’t know if we’ll be seeing them again next year. The colors are so cool, I can’t resist posting even though the picture is not clear

Unknown Legume

Here’s some more Wild Poinsettias. The colors are kind of washed out because it was a very overcast day, but this picture shows the foliage much better

More Wild Poinsettias

This little friend was lounging on top of one of the compost bins. Mr (or Ms) Anole

Anole

This entry was posted in Celebration, Outside Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

