Pollinators

I’ve put up a new header for this blog. It’s one of the sunflowers growing in the outside garden. Maybe I haven’t been looking in the right places in previous years, but this year I have been seeing an astonishing number of bees and other pollinators. This has me feeling very pleased and encouraged, because I have been very concerned about the possibility of a decline in pollinators. The sunflower in the picture had nine or more very small bees (one can be seen close to the head of the larger bumblebee in the picture), and two of the big bumblebees working on it. Some of the sunflowers have had many more bees on them than that, even. I didn’t count them because there were so many of the smaller bees, it would be very difficult to do.

I have been enjoying the large number of beautiful wildflowers growing in and around the gardens as well as the beautiful blossoms of the plants I planted myself. I’ll post some of the pictures I’ve taken of them in upcoming blog entries.

This entry was posted in Celebration, General, Outside Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

