Citrus Solvent and Painted Canvas Floor Cloths

I’ve been working on painted canvas floor cloths. So far, I’ve used latex wall paint for my background, and oil based stencil paints for the patterns. I’ve been designing and cutting my own stencils (with some heavy borrowing from stencil designs from the Arts and Crafts period). I was having some difficulty for a long while with using oil based paints because of the incredibly toxic nature of the solvents that must be used. I stopped using them entirely for a long while for this reason. But I do love working with oil based paints, especially for stenciling, so when I discovered that citrus oil could be used in place of conventional oil paint solvents, I was thrilled. I’m using orange oil that I bought from a company that sells it to gardeners. It works even better than conventional solvents. The orange oil does a great job of removing the paint, and it leaves the brushes in much better condition than other solvents. You need to use a paper towel or a rag to help the orange oil do its job, but that’s a small price to pay for not poisoning yourself and the earth.

I’ve ordered some floor grade PolyWhey to use as the finish. I don’t know how it’s going to work on a painted canvas floor cloth. I’ll post some pictures when it’s all done.

This entry was posted in Art Furniture, Method and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

