Make your own mayonnaise

We never buy mayonnaise any more.  We haven’t bought any for at least a couple of years.  It all started because I have allergies and it’s really hard to find mayonnaise that doesn’t contain stuff I’m allergic to.  So I started making my own.  Once I started doing that, I discovered how much better home made mayonnaise tastes than store bought, and how much money we could save by making our own.  And it doesn’t contain any junk.  The only ingredients are eggs, oil, and seasonings.  That’s it.

It takes me about ten minutes, maximum, to make a little over two cups full of mayonnaise.   You can use a blender, but it takes longer because you have to stop and scrape the sides down a lot as you go, and it’s a lot harder to make a double batch in the blender.  I use a hand blender and a wide mouth quart mason jar.  I double the recipe I got off the internet.  When the mayonnaise starts to get thick, I move the hand blender up and down to help it incorporate the oil into the mix more efficiently.

Here’s the recipe I use, with some modifications:

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 scant teaspoon prepared mustard
  • cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 3 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

These are the ingredients I use for my modified recipe, keeping in mind that I am doubling the original recipe –

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1  1/4 cup canola oil
  • 3/4 cup olive oil (You can use any kind of olive oil, but I like extra light olive oil, which I get in large containers at Sam’s Club.  More than half of the oil has to be something other than olive, because otherwise it won’t thicken properly.)
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice (fresh or reconstituted)

I use as much olive oil as I can get away with because it has more omega 3 fatty acids.  I don’t use the mustard or cayenne because I’m allergic to both of them.  I compensate by adding extra lemon juice.

Preparation:

Put the egg and salt (and mustard and cayenne if you’re going to use them) in the blender or wide mouth quart jar and blend at high speed for about 20 seconds.  Gradually add the oil (through the hole in the lid if you’re using a blender), while blending, in droplets at first, blending until all of the oil has been blended with the egg and the mayonnaise is thick and creamy.  Blend (or mix) in the lemon juice until mixed.

I use a rubber scraper to blend in the lemon juice because it’s easier than using the hand blender for that.  After the lemon juice is thoroughly incorporated into the mixture, I transfer the mayonnaise into another jar for storage.  This is because I found that it’s not always possible to incorporate the lemon into all of the mayonnaise without doing that, and any mayonnaise that doesn’t have lemon juice in it will tend to turn pink after a little while, and while I don’t know what that means, it doesn’t seem like a very good thing to me.

The original recipe comes with this note:

Note: Raw eggs can contain salmonella (about 1 in 20,000 eggs might be contaminated), but there are egg white products on the market which can be used safely. People in high-risk groups are the elderly, small children, pregnant women and those with compromised immune systems. If you aren’t sure of your eggs, egg substitute can be used to make the mayonnaise. Egg yolk powder (pasteurized and dried) can be found in the King Arthur Catalog

It ‘s as easy as that.  Really.  And totally worth it.

This entry was posted in House, Method and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

